Forum Thread: Best Chromebook for Kali?

I am new to the Linux field, and want to get a lightweight dedicated machine. Have learned quite a bit quickly, but surely just a drop from the ocean. My thought process is this: pickup a Chromebook, wipe it, and install Kali. My main concern is the wireless card, and finding monitor ability. I know RAM will slow me down (only 2GB, rather than 8, or even 4), and 16GB hard drives will hold me back. With an SD cars slot, it seems fine to use that for any storage I need, and my main way to transfer any data.

Regardless, I am hoping to be able to skip an easily noticed USB wireless card and find a Chromebook ready to go. If anyone has leads to decent Linux notebooks for the 200 range, or any advice in general will be happily accepted. Thank you for your time!

7 Responses

You really need better RAM than only 2gb, And you should google about the wireless card if it's able to use monitor mode.

Make sure you get a wireless adapter that is on the aircrack-ng compatibility list.

I have found NOTHING on any CB wireless cards, from CR48 to modern units. Will be going with an appropriate card, unless I find a unit that works. I don't think I mentioned I will go Intel or nothing, no ARM for me. I know 2 GB is a little, but I figured it would get the job done. No plans for any VMs. May have to find 4 GB if it will be absolutely terrible with 2. It won't be dual OS, just Kali.

I would only be testing my networks, and maybe others, so the book will only see that use. OTW, I was trying to find a way to PM you, glad you chipped in. Thank you, too, NEO, any and all feedback is welcome.

If I was buying this unit, I would only consider one with an ARM.