Forum Thread: Guys Need Help Installing Kali Linux 1.0.9a in VMware Workstation 11

Hi there I am fairly new to kali Linux but I have encountered a slight problem while I was watching a video on how to install everything went fine until installing the system... it says failed to install the system looked through forums and stuff but nothing..

1. downloaded from official kali Linux site
  2. I have 64 bit comp
  3. downloaded 1.0.9a 64bit iso (via torrent)
  4. using VMware workstation 11

Please reply to this really appreciate it.

36 Responses

Errors like these can have multiple causes. Just to start troubleshooting:
-Which VM options did you choose during the VM setup?
-Which steps does the tutorial run trough?
-Are you sure you are using 64 bits every where?

What do you mean 64bits everywhere can you give me example?

64 bit Kali VM on 64 bit Virtualbox for 64 bit widows using the correct 64 bit options.

Dear Jhon

This can have several problems. How many GB's of data are you letting VMWare have? You should have atleast 50GB's to be able to run Metasploit and let it all load, because 10GB's is very little for Kali Linux.

But, if the error happens, there should be something like saying "System Installation failed" There should be something at the end which looks like "Debug", it'll give u an URL, put that URL into your URL and check what is the problem. The most common is not enough GB's.

Kind regards,

Ragin' Hacktivist

Believe me, even 15 GBs are too many but recommended. With 50 GBs of VM you are going very high!
However, he's right, main reason is usually not enough space or RAM.

Dear Ciuffy,

If you are planning on being a hacktivist, installing a lot of things on Kali Linux, it is well recommended to use 50GBs. I know a hacktivist that uses 100GB's because it is well needed if you are installing a lot of stuff in Kali Linux. Kali Linux in less than the first 1Hour took me 10GBs.