Forum Thread: Host a Website on PC(Kali Linux)

Hello guys! I wanted to know how to host a website on my computer..

I know the apache2 in kali which allows me to host a website on the local network... I don't want to host a website on the local network only... I want to host it on pc for all people can access it from everywhere! could u please help me ? I'm still a beginner in these stuff...

so again. I use Kali Linux... if this process doesn't work on Kali Linux, its okay.. I can download windows on a vmware please am waiting for ur reply guys :)

10 Responses

It's really easy, do a search for setting up website for apache, there are a number of tuts, Then purchase a static ip (this way your site can be found via DNS) then send your site to google for indexing.

edited section

Oh ya forgot, you will still need to purchase a domain name if you plan to make it public, if it's private for friends the static ip will be enough.

cant seem to reply as my post gets messed up. When I try to reply it appears to try to post as html and does not save the post.

perhaps a mod will be kind enough to move the below into his question below.

you cant go public without a domain. DNS stands for Domain Name Server. By purchasing a domain your site will get listed in the server. So when people type in Ahmedhackingsite.com (which hosting on kali might be an indicator) they will be directed to your site.

You will have to check with your ISP to see if you have a static ip, and if so if you have more than one to use. Some ISP's include them with the service. When hosting a site it is always best to have exclusive ip address that is just for you

see here for more info on static and dynamic ip's http://whatismyipaddress.com/dynamic-static

ohh dude.. I wanted to host it for free.. like just putting my external ip address and then enter my website... got it? I dont want to buy a domain name ... and can "I have a static ip address for free?