Forum Thread: Kali 2.0 GRUB Problem Windows 10

I am new to this comunity, but I've seen that everybody try to help when someone need a hand, so some of you might help me as well. I am trying to install kali 2.0 alongside windows 10 for quite a while and the only thing I get in the end is the Windows boot screen, I've reserched about my problem in the forum of Kali, and in some others sites including Null-Byte but nothing could help me dual booting Kali with windows 10 yet.

What I already did:
1- Downloaded the Kali 2.0 ISO from the oficial website
2-Created a bootable USB with the Kali in it using the universal USB
3-Shrinked one of my existing partitions(with no data in it) just for Kali with 95gb of free space
4-Disabled the Secure Boot Mode in my BIOS
5-Disabled the fast start up in my system
6-Booted from the USB and run the Graphic instalation
7-Followed the instalation prompt with the basic stuff(language, root pasword,...)
8-When it comes to the partition part I did 2 of the following

• Manual install- creating a swap partition and the main partition( I don't know how can I explain this part)
  • Manual intall- let the installer do the rest by selecting the partition and use the recommended settings for beginners
  • I did this two options in two different instalations both didn't work

9-When it comes to install the GRUB in your MBR I chose YES and continue with the instalation selecting dev/sda which is the right place to install the GRUB if I am not mistaken.

10-After it the instalation prompt tells you to disconect your USB before the system reboot

Out Come

Well after all, without any error during the instalation my system just boots straight into Windows, I don't know if I am doing something wrong, I may have forgotten to cover some of my steps, if iforgot some important information or if I did something wrong please correct me.

I have a Windows 10
My computer is a ASUS X550L Intel core i5 NVIDIA GEFORCE 840M 1TB HD 8GB ram

30 Responses