Forum Thread: Virtual Box Setup for Using Kali Linux

I've been working on setting up kali linux on virtualbox everything related to the setup is correct

But I need to configure kali linux to work over WAN , Because most of the exploits or attacks work on LAN ( My network ) , How is it possible to setup VirtualBox and kali linux to work over WAN , Also I'm aware that i should attempt portforward , but couldn't get it to work anyway.

I'm still learning and practicing so go easy on me
Thanks in advance
Respect :D

41 Responses

The setup is identical to work on WAN as LAN but you need to configure portforwarding on your router.

I'm aware that i should portforward on my router already did
i portforwarded port 80 but couldn't get anything to work over wan

Want to ask something if you don't mind !
What is the command for listening on a port ? so when i check if it's open the website shows it's open

One more thing , what is better to have a static ip or dynamic ?
And how to set it up without any issues on kali using virtual box

Describe your setup better and maybe someone can help you. If you have your virtual environment setup properly then it's like OTW said "setup is identical".

Alright , sorry for not describing the whole situation my bad
VirtualBox settings :
General
Running kali linux with Debian (64bit)
System
base Memory: 4758 Mb
Processors : 2
Execution Cap: 1%
Boot Order : CD/DVD, Hard disk
Display
Acceleration: VT-x/AMD-V, Nested Paging , PAE/NX
Video Memory : 12 MB
Acceleration : 3D
Remote Desktop Server : Disabled
Video Capture : Disabled
Network
I have 3 adapters
1: attached to NAT
2: attached to Bridged Adapter
3: attached to Host-only Adapter
This is my Virtual Box settings
when i start kali i open gufw firewall and open ports there
I also open ports on my router

but i have a question in virtual Box NAT there should be portforwarding too but what should be the host ip and the guest ip ?