What's Better to Use: Debian or Ubuntu?

Any thoughts about using these OS as alternative Kali Linux?

9 Responses

Maxim:

If you want to do hacking, I suggest you use Kali. It's built on Debian. BackTrack was built on Ubuntu and for a number of reasons, they chose to abandon it for Debian.

Backtrack is based on Ubuntu
Ubuntu is based on Debian
Kali is based on Debian

With Kali, you esentially have a modified Debian, and most of the tools used here in NullByte built-in. You can add Debian Wheezy repositories if you feel something is missing, or tweak it to look more friendly for everyday use (as I've personally done).

Hi all brand noob here, great site.

I installed Ubuntu 14.04 last night (wiping windows7 on my laptop) and was just getting used to using the terminals. Then it updated to Ubuntu 15 and the terminals are all gone and its like being on a mac/windows hybrid. But im seeing that i should maybe keep it this way and install kali in a VM perhaps? Any ideas?

Very new to using hack tools but learn kinda quick, especially thanks to nu-byte! also an audio engineering student, so i get basic code and schematics. Cheers nice to meet all.

If you have a fresh clean install, why not make it with Kali instead?

I use Ubuntu 15.04 for daily purpose and you just can search in the toolbar for the terminal or you press STRG+ALT+T to open a terminal that you can pin like in windows on the toolbar so its present like in older Ubuntu versions or Debian.

For Hacking its gonna be the best if you install a Hacking-Distro like
Kali-Debian or my Favorite Bugtraq 2 Black Widow based on Ubuntu 12.04.

The best way is to install a Multi-Boot system, so if you shoot your Linux distro by learning Hacking (like me) you can make easy a new install-usb stick with your linux otherwise you will need a second computer to do this. I did this:

Win7 200GB : only to play some games and test programms
Bugtraq 2 150GB : to learn Hacking