Forum Thread: A Few Questions of a Newb About Hacking

I started learning programming a while ago, I have already done a few things related to programming, and I want to choose one or two things to do, like I could focus on AI programming, procedural generation, or hacking, which is what bring me here. So I decided to try everything first!

First question: If I want to find exploits in programs and webs, or take information from any system, is that called hacking or cracking?

Second question: I have two computers which I can use for this right now;

1.- Laptop, Windows 8.2, 4Gb of ram, 1.8Gh of processor, 500Gb HDD, I also have external disks and can buy more. Problem: I can not install another OS, and this is a big problem

2.- Laptop, shitty ram of about 512 Mb, shitty processor, i686 non pae processor, more than enough HDD space and again, external HDDs, BUT I can install whatever OS.

Bear in mind that I just want to cheat in non online videogames, for learning, then maybe online videogames and my objective is to read my friend's emails, maybe a few more things but I don't think I need a great NASA computer for this.

Which is preferable?

I don't think you can hack a lot with windows, and I could install a low spec OS in the shitty potatocomputer

Third question: After chosing PC, what software is needed? I know I need protection. So, AntiVirus, AntiTrojan, what else? Tor browser? xd

5 Responses

First question : I would consider it to be hacking, though I don't know why it matters.

Second question : You can use a different OS on the Windows Computer. You can either use a Virtual Machine such as Virtual Box, or you can boot a Live USB of Linux.

Cool, I done that before, I forgot about it.
So I can have my Windows OS, and then when I need it use the booteable USB with my Linux OS to do whatever I need.
This really simplifies things. Thx!

I prefer 1st laptop. You said you can't change its OS. So, why don't you run Kali Linux on Virtual Box ?