Forum Thread: Finding a Neighbor's IP

Hey guys, I am new to this whole stuff. Been reading some guides and tutorial and I think I'm getting the hang of it. Thing is, I am trying to hack into a neighbor's pc (I have his permission). All of the recoinnesance and exploiting tools I see already asume you have your victim's IP address, which I do not have. The most I've been able to get is his MAC address by sniffing the traffic with airodump-ng. Is there any way to get the victim's IP with the MAC address or by network sniffing? (Wireshark doesn't show any ARP traffic, and thus doesn't show any ips).

I have thought of creating an evil twin and then using something like Ettercarp to find the IP. Any recommendations/tips? Thanks in advance

3 Responses

Sorry mate. You can only get the Ip if you have connected to the AP. It won't give you the IP cause that would basically render the whole WPA2 security useless. Wpa2 is to prevent unauthorised access to private information, and the IP is the most crucial one you don't want people to get their hands on cause you can scan it for vulnerabilities and do the best attack for the vulnerability/ies you found.

What you can do tho, is maybe send him an shortened link to your test subject. There are ip logger websites online for free, where you paste the URL you want him to go, then the website gives you a shortened one, then you can use google link shortener to shorten the IP logger url you just made so it looks a lil less conspicuous. You can try grabify which gives you different url option, including the google shortened link already made for you. And also hopes the test subject is 'ignorant' enough to click it. This is another method of reconnaissance. You gotta be creative when it comes to hacking.

Then after the IP gets logged, you can scan the IP for open ports.

Hopes this helps.
Cheers.

P.s- Don't contact the other person who commented on your post before me. Trust no one, not even yourself.