Forum Thread: First Experiences with "Hacking"?

I'm using the term "hacking" quite loosely - if it was by script-kiddying, then so be it. I'm just kinda curious about where everyone got started with computer security. What was the first time you compromised a device or exploited a weakness in a system, be it a network, a computer or anything else?

7 Responses

I hacked some wood when I was young. ;-P

One day I realized I was interested in hacking (after many years of self taught programming), but then realized I didn't know anything about it. So I started googling... reading... downloading...

And here I am, slowly achieving world's domination.

Jokes apart, I started googling hacking theory just for fun, then I started archiving and cataloging every new piece of information I got day by day, to then look at the bigger picture. I wish I knew "Hacking the Art of Exploitation" book existed a long while ago.

Honestly, Null Byte is truly the best place to start, probably absolutely.

The first thing thing I hacked was a website, I tried SQLi injection (Skiddish back then), the WAF blocked the SQLi so, I had no luck. The website was running an old kernel version, though. The version was 1.6.13 (Old), which I surprisingly had some exploits for. And, after that, I just simply defaced it.

Regards,

R00T

My first hacking (and I didn't even know it) was trying to make my Wii/Wii games glitch out, which was fun at some times. I also started working with Homebrew because I could unlock the full secrets of the game console. Now I can host my own webpages on my Wii. Hacking is a great experience!