Forum Thread: Is There a Way to Narrow a Existing Txt File?

I am new to this Null Byte community, but I've become very interseted in the hacking topic, since here it is easy to find most of the information that I need to get started.

After reading quite a few topicts related to Wi-fi cracking with aircrack-ng I decided to try on my own, and to my surprise I could crack some of the Wi-fi nearby without any problem using a word list that I found online, it took me minutes to crack, but after trying the same methods in others I took hours and no password was found. Then I noticed that my word list contain some massive amout of useless data that I could simply be deleted to speed up my process.

Is there a way of narrowing this list to have a minimum 8 words length or higher?

8 Responses

honestly you could use some scripting language here like Python or Ruby .... Am not good in the language myself so sorry I cannot help ... just wanted to throw some light

I myself am not a pro scripter but I'm sure that you could also use bash scripting to get this done. I'd recommend looking into grep, and I also found this article for finding lengths of words. Good luck :)

Cheers,
Washu

*Grabs Popcorn* Getting a refill be right back. I need a drink now. Right Back

Try this on the shell

cat "/path/to/passwordlist.txt" | grep -E [A-Za-z0-9]{8} > newlist.txt

Will create a newlist.txt in current dir with passwords that are at least 8 chars

Thanks for the tips, I will study on that! :)

Cat:
cat is one of the most commonly-used commands in Linux. It can be used to:
Display text files
Copy text files into a new document
Append the contents of a text file to the end of another text file, combining them
-- Merge: cat file1.xxx file2.xxx file3.xxx .. etc > outputfile.xxx
-- Remove Dupes: cat wordlistfile.xxx | uniq > outputfile.xxx

Pw-Inspector: