Forum Thread: How to Make a Program Using C++ ?

hello, am a student who loves computers a lot .. and i am studying computer science as a major , C++ was the first language i took .. i read and heard that its a powerful programing language , but unfortunately i've almost completed my first year .. i finished introduction to C++ programing course and Object oriented course but still dont know how to make a windows software because all the projects we make in our labs are win32 console application , and what i want is to make a full program ... like the ones u run using the .exe file ... i've searched the internet and lost hope to find a solution ... thank you for your time ^^

13 Responses

Although I am not going to school for programming, i have researched it a fair amount and if you are already comfortable writing console applications then you should start learning Windows API if you want to program a full desktop application. Also an exe is just a compressed program, so all you need to do is convert your files for your console application into an executable and you'll have an exe.

thank you for your reply ^^ , am sorry but if i wanted to search for a tutorial ... what do i type ?

lol.

Highly recommend you do some research next time before you give any more false information.

Yea I realized it was wrong when my comment became hidden but it was too late to edit it. Visual C++ is an IDE, if he wants to make a desktop application (i think that is what he wants) he needs to learn the Windows API right?

"i want is to make a full program ... like the ones u run using the .exe file"

i think he wants to develop a desktop app to run in windows with user interface buttons, text inputs and so on...

its easier to build a GUI just by drag and drop rather than edit xml, ms visual studio supports Visual C++

but i highly recommend Qt as i've said below

I don't mean to be harsh, but a google search would have solved all your problems.