Forum Thread: My Venture into Hacking

I have been reading here on Null Byte for a while now and I will admit I am as green as a greenhorn can be. I only recently started using Linux and had to find my way around a command line interface using YouTube tutorials and many texts here on NB. I started playing HackNet awhile ago and totally loved it! I know it over simplified by a lot but did get my interests up even more. See this post as my personal introduction to the NB community; dlagel says HI!

I have always had an interest in security and penetration testing; finding ways into abandoned buildings as a kid, lock-picking a few years ago and more recently that shifted to the digital realm.

My goal for now? I want to see how vulnerable I myself am to hackers. If I can hack my own machines; I know I gotta step up the security a notch. I want to hack my own old machine and try to connect to my WiFi by any means other than tying in the passphrase.

If I am able to "hack" my WiFi I will assume anyone can.

What I have done so far:

1. Downloaded Kali from the makers website and verified the hashes. Legit.
  2. Enabled virtualization on my laptop, got an OracleVM set up and installed Kali (PS: recommended 8GB of disk will result in FAILURE! Take 20 or so ;)
  3. Got myself a second laptop (running Vista) as victim machine that's connected to the same WiFi (just my own, regular, everyday-use home WiFi)
  4. Done some nmap, found multiple devices on the network and found my target machine.

And that is basically where I am at. I've been unable to find which services are behind these ports, let alone find a usable vulnerability. There are a lot of helpful tuts here and elsewhere but none of them are, of course, a simple 100% copy-paste it seems.