Forum Thread: Question to the Admins/Experts on Certifications

This question is for the admins and otherwise legit experts and pros. I'm studying to become a professional ethical hacker and wanted your perspective on what certifications are most desirable to obtain. I've been prepping for the CEH and was planning to take it the beginning of Sept. I've passed the last few simulated exams and am comfortable in my preparedness, however am rethinking whether obtaining that credential or seeking another certification such as certified pentester, ect. I've goggled and found mixed reviews about the worthiness of CEH and wanted your expertise on which cert you all believe is most worthwhile in terms of a career in the industry. Thank you in advance for any info or advice you can provide. Greatly appreciated!

22 Responses

You will definitely need the comptia A+ course certification. However, all in all, just get as many certifications as you can. The more certs you have, the better your chances are of being hired. To put this in a real world from, If you and some other person apply for an IT/Hacking job, and you have one more certification than said person, odds are, you will get the job.

In all honesty, an awful lot of people in this industry have no certifications. If you want to pursue the certification route in IT security, I suggest;

A+
Net+
Sec+
Linux+

Then.

CASP
CEH
CISSP.

OTW: I was wondering which one of these I should take. Thanks for a good list :)

Jeremiah:

It depends upon your background and aspirations.

I am hoping to get into the security or pen tester field. I already have A+ and Net+

Then get the security + next.

Thanks for this list

thanks so much for your insight OTW! I appreciate the advice!!

to OTW: i just finished CCNA certification can you tell me what certification should i take? thanks