Forum Thread: Gained Access to Email, What Next?

I'm a high school student, trying to gain access to a teacher's account on the PowerSchool service. I got her school network password by recording her typing it in. She has reused this password for both her school-official email address and her personal email address (and several other sites), so I have access to both. However, she is using a different password for PowerSchool, and it also isn't the default password. PowerSchool claims that it's logging each failed attempt, so I don't think I can use Hydra. To reset her PowerSchool password, she needs to contact an admin, so that isn't an option.

So, does anyone have any ideas on how I can leverage access to her email account? I made a Chrome extension to record her entering the password, but then discovered that the school policy prevents her from syncing Chrome extensions on her official school account. I'm running out of ideas now.

9 Responses

Hacking into a teacher's grading/ student data software is a bad idea. Most high school system administrators don't seem like they know what they're doing, but they've got a good deal of experience under their belts. If you're caught anywhere near the gradebook program, you'll almost certainly be expelled, or at the very least suspended for a while. It's not worth it. You don't need to be in there, and if you're trying to change your grades, you shouldn't. You should learn it for real, and make good grades because you know the subject matter.

Also, if you wanted an answer that could work, you should've made your question hypothetical, and a little less specific. Nobody's going to help you in a public forum if they think they'll get in trouble for being an accomplice.

The lecture on grades is somewhat unnecessary; my grade in this class is fine and changing it was not my goal. I will keep your second paragraph in mind for the future though.