Forum Thread: Tips for a Hacking Senior Prank

Before I begin, I would like to address that this is gray-hat hack at most, and that I do not want to do any malicious acts like a black-hat would.

This school year is coming up quite soon, and I wanted to exit high school with a little fun. My school, like many others, uses SchoolLoop. Each school has their own site which will look different, depending on the creator's design choices.

2 example sites (not my own school's):
Example 1
Example 2

What I would like to do is change this site's content. Nothing too extreme though, on the off chance that I get caught. I have already learned HTML, so that is not a problem. After doing a bit of research, I found that the staff member that has control of the site can edit it at anytime.

So what I need to do is either a) take control of SchoolLoop itself, or b) get that staff member's account.

Since the first is much harder to do, especially since I'm only a novice, the second option is the best choice. However, the problem is that I have no idea which staff member is the one in control of said account.

Currently, I have a few ideas. It would greatly help if you could build on them.

1. Do some extra recon during the school year and find out who has the account. This might cause suspicion when I do get the account since I might be the only person who asked.
  2. Since SchoolLoop is not a secure site, not using https, I could use a man-in-the-middle attack to keylog usernames and passwords. This won't work so well if I don't have a specific target in mind, though.
  3. This one is a bit far-fetched. Somehow getting a key logger on every device on that connection. This is somewhat black-hat, in my opinion, and achieving this also seems quite difficult.
  4. Some sort of social engineering where the staff members click on a phishing link or download some file that has an embedded key logger.

If anyone could add on to this or give suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.