Forum Thread: Hacking into a Unix School Server

Sorry for seeming like a complete newbie. I was looking at a tutorial on how to get access to a school's exams. I figured out with xprobe2 that it is running HP UX 11.0x. I was wondering if anyone could explain how I could find the exploit for this Unix version? I've looked at other tutorials but they involve using Backtrack and I'm using Kali and I couldn't really figure it out.

22 Responses

Using Backtrack or Kali doesn't change anything. You can use any Linux distro the only thing you have to do is to download the right exploit and exploit it correctly, which means understanding what you do, including breaking laws.

I was referring to that tutorial but it refers to Windows 7 server. I did more recon on the school server and found it runs Solaris 10. I'm just trying to figure out how I can find the exploit for the system like the one used in the tutorial

Jane:

Open the Metasploit console and type;

msf > search type:exploit platform:solaris

That will find all the Solaris exploits in Metasploit.

OTW

Thank you so much! There are a lot of exploits. Would there be a particular one I'm looking for? Actually, the same directory /exploit/windows/smb/ms08067netapi from part 1 of the tutorial is also on the list of exploits. Would that work the same way?

No, that won't work. That is strictly a windows exploit.

Jane:

If I were you and new to hacking, I would be very careful. A lack of experience and skill will likely lead to your being detected and caught.

OTW

Is there a way to find an exploit that would work on this server?

Greetings, IMO with out foot printing this network I would go for a reverse shell if I'm inside the switch perimeter.
Maybe sit on network as rouge AP try to MITM for credentials.
Maybe subterfuge it a little, Or ponit the nuke Msf at it.
Maybe check banners to see if open in another spot. So many different ways really.
Don't know would need to be there to see..