Forum Thread: Assembly and R.Engineering?

As a newcomer here i must admit: I'm not a professional regarding computers, but my interest in IT field has growing a lot since i started to visit this wonderful place(NullByte). Now, to the question:

what is the real importance of assembly today, especially in malware analysis and other related security fields?

"Practical Reverse Engineering - Dang, Gazet, Bachaalany" has excellent advices for those who want to take the path of R.Eng. but don't have a firm grasp.

Also, Mr.Occupytheweb wrote an amazing article here on null byte( "Essentials skills to Becoming a Master Hacker"). Even after some research, i still have to ask: Should i learn assembly? or should i focus on other languages(Ruby, python, C++, Javascript, HTML,...) in addition to other skills?

Thank you guys in advance,

RTM

7 Responses

Reverse:

Welcome to Null Byte!

As a hacker, the scripting languages (Perl, Ruby, Python, etc.) are essential. If you are looking to do malware analysis or build your own exploits, assembly is great to have, almost essential.

I hope that answers your question.

OTW

Yes, it's good to know that assembly is very important.
Thank you Mr.OTW !

RTM

A little surprise about Assembly is coming soon... eh-eh

I agree with Ciuffy and Romeo above that you should learn scripting & even programming language first. Particularly, knowing some C will make assembly much much more accessible to you. However, when you do get down to it...

There is also a very clear series set of series on assembly for linux & windows on securitytube.net. The recommended order to do these in are, the linux asssembly tutorials, then windows assembly, then buffer overflow tutorials(on linux), and then onto exploit research. Unfortunately, a lot of the videos have problems in sound or visual quality, but the content is worth your time. Find them all under the 'Megaprimers' menu on this site:

http://www.securitytube.net/