Forum Thread: Airodump-Ng mon0 Not Capturing Any Data

Step 1:

i am new to kali linux, i am using it on VirtualBox,

My Host is Windows 7 and for checking the network mode by typing netsh wlan show network mode=bssid in cmd prompt it is showing fine..

But if i using an aircrack-ng tool for wifi hacking via kali linux like airmon-ng start wlan0 then airodump-ng mon0 .and when i type airodump-ng mon0 it is not capturing any data even when i have some access points surrounded!

Please, i am waiting for your valuable reply! reply me ASAP! thanks

28 Responses

Sodmzs:
Are you entering the commands in the root terminal? Or airodump-ng?
If it's airodump-ng then make sure it's the right command.

S_R

SR:
i am entering the command in the root terminal

Sodmzs:

The root terminal is going to carry out the same functions as airodump-ng.The root terminal can however start airodump-ng . So try to start auto dump-no then try the commands.Your wireless adapter also has to be compatible with Kali.

S_R

So try to start auto dump-no then try the commands. ?? Sorry i didnt get you! How do i compatible my wireless adapter with kali Linux ? Thanks for your admirable help! :)

Boss i have serious proboss i have a serious problem when am going type "airodump-ng mon0" but here it dosent search any network in backtrack same as above screen shot

I am having the same issue, did you find any solution?

CRACKER HACKER:
I tried this, this command is not helping out in this matter

try to type airmong-ng check kill when you first start. Afterwards when you are all done type service network-manager start.

i typed service network-manager start, It is showing that it is already started!

Hmm... it seems that you have not picked up anything yet. This happens to me sometimes, but I don't know why. You might just have to wait a while.