Forum Thread: Local Bitcoin Botnet

In studying how bots and botnets work I'd thought I'd post something here for other people curious in the same topic. I work as a computer tech at my local community college and was given the green light by the director to infect 30 of the IT computers with an undetectable bitcoin miner. I convinced him that there is no way to actually make any profit from this method (because of the size and now complexity of bc hashes now) but wanted a challenge that doesn't really damage anything.

I have about 4 others that are curious in this topic and I'd thought posting on here would save us some time in figuring out which programs actually work and which skills we would need.

All the computers range from Win Server 2003 to Windows 7. Any advice or guidance is very appreciated!

8 Responses

Provided that you really have a green light, I may advise you to move to a scrypt coin or CPU minable coin rather than bitcoin. I'm a little behind on latest cryptomarket news, but first things first:

what kind of hardware is that (processor type, any gpu?).
Then, do you already know how mining pools and exchanges work ? Have you ever used cgminer or similar ?
Ever setup a wallet ?

Hardware is pretty old since they are throwaway computers. They range from Pentium 4 to Core2duo. GPU are nonexsistant/scarce. I've worked with cgminer but that would be me just installing it and joining a pool, wouldn't it? I was unaware of embedding cgminer or something similar in a program or the possibility of running it without having it appear as a process (which i don't know if it's possible)

I've setup a wallet in the past and I am familiar with the operations of mining pool but fairly uncertain about exchanges.