Forum Thread: Having Problems with Handler and My Router...

Hello everyone! To start off with, since this is my first post, I would just like to say that this place is a fantastic resource to learn whatever you want to learn, and I think the people here do an outstanding job...

I always used windows before so I am new to everything here, and it does get confusing at times, but I am learning as I go along. I do have a problem though, that I dont know how to solve. But to be truthfull, I dont really know what the problem is or what Im doing wrong.

I searched for IPv6...but found nothing usefull on the forum...

Im trying to get handler to connect to my android device.

I can get it to work, if both my Kali system and android device are on the same network.

To do this I used msfvenom. I created a payload reverse_tcp, set the options for both payload and handler...and it works. But as soon as I disconnect my android from the network I cant get them to connect.

Like I said, it is a "learning by doing" process...

I created a new payload for my android device with LHOST being my public IP that I got from an internet site.

When I setup my handler I used my local IP, that I got when using the ifconfig command, so that my router knows where to send the traffic, when it comes through a specific port.

For both payload and handler I used the same port. I used the same port as when both were on the same network, because I thought it would work then. The port I used was 4444.

I got an error message, that the handler faild to bind.

Ok...no problem, I thought...

I read up on what the problem could be and some sources say "firewall". So I deactivated my firewall on my router. Still same error message. I dont know why it doesnt work, because as I understand things, all ports are open on IPv6, unless you use a firewall.

So I kept reading and watching videos...and stumbled upon "port forwarding".