Forum Thread: Wifiphisher

Hi all,

i wanted to start a evil twin AP by using wifiphisher. everything is ok until i have to select the AP i want to copy. it gives the following error:

error fetching interface information: device not found.

i have an external adapter that is working properly and both devices (internal and external) were not connected to the internet.

can i fix this?

Thanks!!!

16 Responses

What Kali are you working with?

What did you enter? Can you give the command or the screenshot??

those are the commands i used. If this isnt enough let me know, i'll post more screenshots.

OK, Thanks. I'm looking in the source code now to see if I find a reason. I don't use wifiphisher so I can't really call this one off the top of my head. I'll look into this issue and try and replicate it as it makes me curious.

Have you used this tool before with positive results?

Thank you! i havent used it before. since i'm new to kali linux, it looked like this was a good tool to begin with. i've attached a screenshot with the error.

#<!-- One of those interfaces can packet inject? -->

1. Have you run an apt-get update yet?
  2. airmon-ng check kill ?

a. Try the tool again (Didn't work? Move to #3)

1. sudo or root wifiphisher.py -aI wlan0 -jI wlan1 ?(No? Move to #3a)

a. Far as I got and would init 6 at this point!

Thanks, you are helping me a lot! If i understand it. I need two wireless adapters. i have the tp link TL-WN722N as external (as far as i know it is capable of injecting?). the other adapter (internal), does that need to be recognized? which one is my internal? and which one do i need for the jamming interface?

Wifiphisher needs 2 wireless interfaces, and will take care by itself which one to use for AP and which for injecting.

From your first screenshot, I see you have just one (wlan0), and your second screenshot is truncated (maybe) so I can't see if there is a wlan1. If ifconfig can see a wlan1 (but not with iwconfig), type

ifconfig wlan1 up