Forum Thread: Kali Linux 2.0 Network Problems

Hello! I am new to Null-Byte and I hope that some of you may be able to answer some of my questions!

I am as well new to Kali Linux so I have encountered a problem. I have searched all over the internet for a solution for at least a week now. I have tried countless methods to fix this problem, but I just can't seem to do it right. The problem lies in the network. I am able to connect to the network via the NAT option in VirtualBox, but doing so it does not allow me to have an IP address when I type 'ifconfig' in the terminal. It displays my inet address as '10.0.2.15' which I was expecting it to be something like '192.168..'

I have even attempted to manually add an IP address in the connection settings but if I do so, it does not allow me to use the internet.

I had also been learning more about ethical hacking, because I find it very interesting, so I decided to test out an android hack that I had just learned. The hack requires you to be on the same Wi-Fi as the victim. I was using my phone for the test, but it would not work because of my network issues.

I apologize if I had not been more descriptive, as I do not know what I am talking about. But I hope that somebody may be able to help me out.

P.S. I am using VirtualBox on a Windows 10 Laptop. (If that information may be needed.)

If you need anymore information from me, please ask. I will happily provide images or whatever you may need. I am very desperate for solutions.

Thank you!

-Blake

10 Responses

Plus I heard something about "dhclient" to assign an IP address or something but I could not figure out what to do.

Hi Blake!