Forum Thread: Kali Linux Boot Error

Hey Sup hackers,

1. I installed kali Linux (Linux kali 5.2.0-kalu2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.2.9kali1 (2019-0822) x86_64 GNU/Linux) on live usb persistence mode as per the guidelines given on kali documentation.
  2. Then updated and upgraded with following command:

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade

1. Issued folycommand to install tor service

apt-get install tor -y

1. Rebooted the system to get the following error

Sorry for image quality...had no option but to click it with phone camera.

Tried rebooting but getting the same error again.
Cursor isn't available to type anything . Tried ctrl+alt+F3 but to no rescue.
Also read through various forums on internet but to no use.
Help out please.

8 Responses

Please help , I am a newbie and starting the learning curve

What OS is installed on your Dell N5110?

It's windows 10...however I am booing it from kali bootable flash drive. Windows is working fine. This flash drive was working fine a week back and no errors were there while booting kali. Suddenly it started showing this error. Formatted flash drive and re installed kali. It booted fine. On thired boot , it started showing this error. Formatted again , but the error persists

Also , I am able to boot live usb without persistence but when going in with option of with persistence, it gives the described error

Assuming your USB flash drive is at least 8Gb, just use Balena Etcher to flash the live image.
Make sure you're using either one of the latest Live ISOs the ones you've quoted don't seem right:-
cdimage.kali.org/kali-2020.2/kali-linux-2020.2-live-amd64.iso for 64 bit
or
cdimage.kali.org/kali-2020.2/kali-linux-2020.2-live-i386.iso for 32 bit
Once booted make sure you've root privileges
#sudo su

And follow instructions from 0x02 - Create and format an additional partition on the USB stick at:-kali.org/docs/usb/dojo-kali-linux-usb-persistence-encryption/

When you've completed reboot and then