Forum Thread: [HELP] [NEWBIE] Lost Wifi Connection in Kali 2.0

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I love hacking (after seeing Mr. Robot of course xD) but i'm new to this, actually i know nothing about and just started installing Kali 2.0 couple of days ago. I started messing up with some airmon-ng and aircrack commands. At first i type in "airmon-ng kill check" then it said it killed something i didn't remember, then after a couple of failed attempts on cracking WPA, i quit the Terminal and i started suffering web normally but then i realize that somehow my wifi cannot connect ??? try many ways online to fix but still no hope....then i messed up again with typing "iw del wlan0mon" or "iw del wlan0" (not quite sure remember) then i don't see the Wifi option anyone... TT.TT in airmon-ng it also showed nothing (not even wlan0 or something, just blank)....So is there anyway for me to reset my Wifi state on my device, i mean reset everything back to normal, please help me, i'm new to this and i don't have much knowledge. Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks !!!!

33 Responses

If all that Dont work then try rebooting and boot into recovery mode and then it asks for root password and you type your root password after that it gives you a terminal-like space so u type "sudo ifconfig wlan0(or any other network interface) up" it should work. You can test it by typing ifconfig. If you see the wlan0 interface information then it worked your Wireless card is back. Up and running. Thank you.

Only restart and everything is normal

There are two cases with adapters in Kali Linux:-

Either the device works out of the box and you use it pain free like in windows or MAC

It don't work out of the box, then it takes hell a lot of time to set up and maybe wont support all the functions that it should.

You should just type "sudo airmon-ng stop wlan0mon". It should get the prob fixed

This works. Thank you.