Forum Thread: No Wifi Card Found on Kali Linux

Hello Guys,im newbie here and just starting use kali linux,and i got some problem,im use win7 and kali linux dual boot on my pc,my problem is,when checking my wlan thing,(i dont know what its called)

with iwconfig ,its say no wlan was found,im found this problem when tryn to use some BeeF Framework,does anybody got a solution for my problem??

and hope you guys can understand what im say because my english need some rebuild :/

17 Responses

Well, do you actually have a wireless card (internal or external) ? what is that model/brand/chipset?

You can get an Alfa wifi card for 25$ and solve all your problems, but most are already supported (most pc/netbook/notebook I tried kali on, all worked with no problem).

You usually have problem when running on VM, but usb live boot or dual boot shouldn't.

do you mean this one ??
this is the only wifi card enabled and it was internal.
are the external one you mean like a bluetooth adapter ??

Are you sure it's a wifi card ? From GBE I can infer it's a GigaBitEthernet, and from the icon I see in your bottom right corner, it's cable, not wifi...

With external I meant a dongle... yeah, just like bluetooth, just... a wifi capable one.

From the screenshot you posted, it looks you are on ethernet, not wifi. Correct me if I'm wrong...

If you boot kali and do ifconfig do you see an eth0 connected ?

EDIT: look at adapter type ... it says ethernet... so that's not a wificard, it's almost cable for sure.

i dont see eth0 what should i do?? TRIPHAT

That's an ethernet adapter you're showing in the picture not wifi (may be wrong but i googled the card name and it just shows an ethernet port for his card), and also triphat means a wireless adapter like the ALFA he mentioned.

Go into linux and type ifconfig, it should have showed the wireless interface wlan0 when you typed iwconfig though. Try bringing the interface up, that may help.

command: sudo ifconfig wlan0 up