Forum Thread: Installing Kali on a Dual Partition USB

Hey there,

I have been looking for a couple of days now but can't reach a solution to my problem. (Just for the record, i am a complete noob when it comes to Linux based systems.)

I have a 32GB Kingston DataTraveler USB and I want to do the following:
-1 Partition to be used as data storage (for kali and windows)
-1 Partition to boot kali linux
-I want to give Kali the size it needs, and the rest be put in the storage partition.

Available Tools:
-WIndows 10
-Parted Magic USB
-4GB empty USB

How can I achieve this?
Thank you for your time and help.

9 Responses

I am not sure why you want to use two different partitions for the USB. It would likely be easier for you to install Kali to the USB and then just additionally use the USB to hold files. Linux Live USB (LiLi) will let you make a bootable and persistent USB and also hide the files so that they don't litter the USB with the OS's files. After LiLi installs everything, just use your USB as your normally would for data storage.

I didnt know something like that was possible, do you happen to have a link to a tutorial or something that does so?

Edit: After taking a quick peek on their website, it seems like this LiLi installs Live Linux not a full installation if i am not mistaken.

I want to perform a full kali installation not run a live version.

LiLi is super user friendly. Here is the user guide for it. Basically just:

1. download the Kali .iso
  2. download LiLi and install it.
  3. Plug in USB
  4. Run LiLi
  5. At the top of LiLi's menu, select the USB you want to install Kali on (Make sure you get this one right, if you mistakenly install it to your computer's C: drive, you are going to mess up your computer).