Forum Thread: TL WN722N Usb Not Detected in Kali Linux 2017.1

Hi, i bought a new tp-link Tl WN722N V.2 wifi dongle for wifi hacking but when typed ifconfig, there is no wlan0 interface,so i checked if the system is even detecting my usb by typing # lsusb but there was no mention of the chipset or vendor name, just some ID 2357:010c.

First i typed # lsusb without the usb and the i typed it after plugging in the usb. I searched a lot of forums but none of them worked for me. Im am runing kali 2017.1 live with persistence on a usb. The Linux version is 4.9.0-kali3-amd64. I found the driver zip file but i dont know where to put it or how to install it. Im in desperate need of help . I am a beginner and need detailed help. I'd be thankfull

24 Responses

This is how you should fix this type of error.

I did all the steps as shown but there was a slight difference in the ouput during the process...

...this was his ouput after # make load, whereas....

...this is mine. Fortunately i got the wlan0 interface at the end but i no wifi appeared when i scanned. After i rebooted, the wlan0 agian disappeared.

And even after i got the wlan0 interface, my router's light was still off.
Please help

Well here's a final tutorial that will probably resolve your problem if it doesn't resolve your problem i will try helping you manually but don't expect too many replies from me i am busy mostly. Good luck resolving your problem

Is it usb 3.0/2.0? Are you using virtualbox or something?

It is usb 2.0 and no i am not using a virualbox. I am using kali live with persistence

Thank you very much for sparing your time and i am really sorry to bother you, but i cant get through this alone. The video which @L L shared shows tutorial for a virtual machine but i am running kali live from usb. I followed a tutorial and downloaded compat wireless and got the wlan0 interface ...

But i am unable to scan wifi ..